Faculty and Staff Award Winners Recognized

Faculty and staff award winners are usually announced at the end of each academic year, but the announcement for the 2019–20 school year was sidelined by COVID-19. Although we might be late in announcing the winners, we wanted to make sure they are recognized for their hard work and dedication to the school and especially to the students. Congratulations to the winners!

Wright Family Distinguished Faculty Award

Six University School of Milwaukee faculty members have been awarded with the Wright Family Distinguished Faculty award. The award honors excellent teachers, who by virtue of expertise, dedication, and extension of self, exemplify the highest standards of independent school teaching.
Since 1992, the Wright Family Distinguished Faculty Award Fund has existed within USM’s endowment, providing professional development support to faculty thanks to the thoughtful generosity of the Wright Family. There are two award recipients per division, and recipients have the potential of continuing the honor for two years.
Congratulations to the following teachers, who serve as mentors and inspiration to colleagues and students, and as role models in the community:
Preschool and Lower School
  • Laura Blanchet, 4th grade teacher
  • Tracy Huffman, Lower School music teacher
Middle School
  • Kamie Fultz, 6th grade science teacher and assistant theatre director
  • Katie Gonring, Middle School drama teacher
Upper School
  • Bob Juranitch, Upper School science teacher and Upper School computer science teacher
  • Renee Weber, Upper School French teacher
Charles F. Wright Technology and Innovation in Teaching Award

Three USM faculty members have begun the second year of the Charles F. Wright Technology and Innovation in Teaching award, after being named recipients of the award in 2019. Congratulations to Jon Shoop, Upper School math teacher and innovation teacher; Jason Strains, 8th grade math teacher; and Stacy Peterson, kindergarten teacher. The award recognizes faculty members who enhance their teaching through innovation and integration of technology into their classroom curriculum, and the winners serve as innovation liaisons within the school community to share and support new ideas that impact programming.

Audrey Arndt Award

Congratulations to Chad Wagner, director of security and student safety, who was named the 2019–20 winner of the Audrey Arndt Award. The award is presented annually to one staff member in recognition of his or her length of service, esteem of coworkers, high level of skill and performance, attention to detail, loyalty to the school, and commitment to young people. The award is named after Audrey Arndt, who served as an administrative assistant at the school for 46 years before retiring in 1992. She passed away on Oct. 6, 2019 at the age of 95.
Prekindergarten (age 3) - Grade 12 • Independent • Coeducational
© 2019 University School of Milwaukee
2100 W. Fairy Chasm Road, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53217 • 414.352.6000